viewan2

Animal Details

Menu

Animal ID: A771638
Name: Evan
Age: 7 Years
Weight: 22 lbs
Gender: Neutered Male
Breed: Maltese Mix
Intake Date: Thursday May 06, 2021
Adoptable Date: Monday May 10, 2021
Kennel: FOSTER
City Found: OXNARD
Shelter: Foster

Evan – A771638

Evan - A771638

I am currently in foster care. Please contact my foster parent by email for information about adopting me.

Hi I’m Evan! I’m a 25lb. terrier looking for an owner that will take the time, and have the patience to earn my trust. I’m a little bit snippy right now, but I‘m a friendly guy deep down that looooves belly & tush rubs. At night I love to sit outside with my humans and their dogs and watch tv. I’ve only been with my foster family since June 1st and I’m making really great progress. I’m just getting to know my foster Mom, but I get so excited when she comes home from work, l can’t resist jumping up and down and giving her kisses for taking a chance on me.

I was found with a “cherry eye” (a non-serious ailment) along with another dog who has already been adopted. I was having a hard time adjusting at the shelter because my buddy was essentially my own seeing-eye dog who helped me get around. My cherry eye blocks some of my vision so sometimes I trip or run into table legs.

Ventura County Animal Services was going to do surgery to help the cherry eye (it doesn’t hurt me at all, it just looks a little icky), but I was so scared of everyone it would have been hard for them to take care of me while I recovered, so I’m learning to not be so scared in foster before they get me scheduled. My foster Mom thinks it would be funny to put a pirate eye patch on me, but I’m not so keen on the idea. It’s just a cosmetic imperfection, but I will be so happy when I can get my eye fixed.

Right now I live with two female Chihuahua mixes and I love hanging out with them. It would be great if my future owner has a dog that I can hang out with. Or possibly a retired person that can shower me with all the affection I deserve. I have interest in playing fetch, but I can’t see too well. [Not recommend for kids under 8 years old or so.]

I’m still working on crate training, but if my foster Mom sits with me for 5-10 mins I will go to sleep at night. I have a little bit of separation anxiety because I’m still getting familiar with my new surroundings, but I like to be with my foster Mom and I like to follow her around.

I’m still getting comfortable with new humans, so my future owner should have a couple of dates with me at the park so we can get to know one another! I’m a big love bug when you get to know me!

TRANSLATE DISCLAIMER

The VCAS.US website has been translated by Google Translate. Reasonable efforts have been made to provide an accurate translation, however, no automated translation is perfect nor is it intended to replace human translators. Translations are provided as a service to users of the VCAS.US website, and are provided “as is.” No warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, is made as to the accuracy, reliability, or correctness of any translations made from English into any other language. Some content (such as images, videos, Flash, etc.) may not be accurately translated due to the limitations of the translation software.

The official text is the English version of the website. Any discrepancies or differences created in the translation are not binding and have no legal effect for compliance or enforcement purposes. If any questions arise related to the accuracy of the information contained in the translated website, please refer to the English version of the website which is the official version. Ventura County Animal Services employs bilingual staff who are able to provide assistance.  Please call (805) 388-4341 or email info@vcas.us.

Select a language below: